Skip to content

Week 49

May 21, 2012
tags:

When my deadlines were on, it was all I could do to not think about the end of the Glorious Five Year Plan, put ideas down for the next round of stuff and think about all my other projects. Now that my deadlines are over, and I have to think about those things, they couldn’t be further from my mind and I think I just spent most of my Monday waiting for 3:44 AM on Tuesday, when Space X’s back-up launch is scheduled.

I was up and streaming the previous launch (friday), which aborted a few seconds from launch due to an abnormal pressure build-up in an engine, which means I didn’t need to leave that party I was at early, which I just realized now.

All I can safely say is that the private sector is about to broach the stratosphere in the way only nation states have done before, and I would like to be awake to see it.

Especially since the Private Sector is Elon Musk, a co-founder of Paypal, who is spending his internet moneys founding small ventures like Tesla Motors and Space Fucking X.

Elon Musk is a black suit and some ninja skills away from being Grant Morrison’s Batman.

__

__

READING

Charlie Brooker. I love Charlie Brooker. Nearly at the end of SCREEN BURN and I came across an eight year old article, where he muses on forcing a host to make love to a pig. Which he last year turned into the premier episode of THE BLACK MIRROR, where a princess (England still has a few, apparently) is kidnapped and the only demand being that the Prime Minister be forced to copulate with a sow live on broadband later that day. I don’t want to spoil anything, but it was my favourite episode of the series.

Other than that, I’ve been reading a few scripts a day – which I say to remind myself that yes, I have been reading, and no, I haven’t been shut-in for almost a month.

__

__

WATCHING

I finally have time to catch up with the Daily Show on and the Colbert Report. On Saturday, I was still in mid-March and now I’m almost up to mid-April. While the shows are available, streaming, I’m constantly infuriated by the border boundaries for streaming content, as apparently the Comedy Network in Canada just drops the extended interviews after what I can only assume is twenty or thirty minutes after they’ve aired.

Nothing screams 18th century thinking like a fucking video not being available in Canada. THE AGE OF EMPIRES IS OVER, YOUTUBE.

I’ve also been listening to a lot of British panel shows – specifically The Unbelievable Truth and So Wrong It’s Right – which are great. I’ll probably eventually give QI a shot, whatever the fuck it is. There’s an specific economy in England for sounding smart and being snarky, as well as a lot of lee-way given for regionalism. There’s an applause break in almost every episode for the first person to cap a joke with “… if you live in Manchester/Crydon/Liverpool.”

That isn’t me being harsh or defamatory, I’m just trying to fit in. Like you would in Liverpool.

Also, THE AVENGERS is the greatest super-hero movie ever made. THE DARK KNIGHT was more than a super hero movie, but the AVENGERS is the most balls out, action, adventure, hilarious, super-fucking-hero movie that has ever been made, ever. I saw it twice within 12 hours on opening day and just thinking about it now makes me want to see it again.

Goddamnit, I just might. I’d be home in time for the Space X launch. Fuckeneh.

__

__

WORKING

Projects are complete! Work is on the horizon, and a few weeks of work at that. So now I have the luxury of sitting down and staring at the rest of my life and wondering what the fuck I was thinking.

This next week, I’ll be looking the next phase of my life, reading my goddamn blog reader and trying to bring it as close to 0 as humanly possible, then weeping at the mountain in my Instapaper, re-opening the office, watching a few things with subtitles just to feel alive, and codifying a thing for which I have yet to come up with a clever name. And then coming up with all the clever names for all the other things which need to be cleverly named.

I could ramble here for a while on the meaning of work and the things I want to accomplish, but I’m soon to live in a world where Elon Musk created paypal and then started Tesla Motors and then put a rocket into space just because. So, fuck all that noise.

See you at 3:44 am Eastern.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

