Skip to content

Week 42

April 1, 2012
tags:

April Fools peaked for me in the second grade, when we, being of a french nature, cut out twenty “poisson D’Avril” (April Fish, don’t ask me why) and placed them, with tape on the back to ensure stickiness, on our teacher’s chair. The prank didn’t work, our teacher knowingly swept them off her chair and sat down as per usual. The peak, however, was that she mistakenly stood on one of the fish, which stuck to her shoe for upwards of five minutes. This was our first victory, as a group, against the encroaching planet of the adults. This was everything.

If there was a WHERE ARE THEY NOW? montage for that class picture, it would only read: FAILED TO SMASH THE STATE and probably a few that just say DEAD.

WE HAVE WRAPPED MARCH AND HAVE COMPLETED THE FIRST QUARTER OF RAGNAROK. YES IT IS STILL COOL IF WE BREAK IT DOWN THAT FAR NEEDLESSLY.

I AM GOING TO BUY A TOQUE ONLINE TO CELEBRATE. IT IS STILL FREQUENTLY COLD OUT.

READING

My Friend Dahmer is a stunning piece of work that really sticks with you. I made the mistake of reading it in one sitting, leading up to four in the morning and had nightmares that I too was sitting uncomfortably close to a trunk full of body parts.

King City by Brandon Graham is great in its collection. The story is slow and loopy and the minimal, cartoony art will completely take you somewhere you didn’t expect to go.

Also, The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell is making me feel like I have no friends.

This completes the reading segment.

WATCHING

I had an infection marathon of THE THING, CONTAGION and OUTBREAK. I should have ended on not-OUTBREAK because not only does that movie not hold up, but it was never good in the first place. I had fond memories of it from my youth, but there’s a helicopter chase that relies wholly on two helicopters not being able to follow one smaller helicopter above the wilderness (where helicopters live, the air above stuff) and Cuba Gooding Jr shooting a monkey over a girl’s shoulder. CONTAGION is easily the definitive disease film of our time because it is a procedural, and a vaguely internal one at that. Sure, America saves the world, but goddamn, it is compelling.

THE THING remains fucking amazing.

I also watched YOJIMBO (which Johnnie To strangely refers to as a sitcom on the Criterion website), SANJURO, CHILDREN OF MEN and went to see the HUNGER GAMES. I didn’t care for the Hunger Games – it wasn’t for me. Then again, a lot of things aren’t… you know, like egg salad and Christianity. Not for me.

GIRL WALK ALL DAY is probably my favourite new thing for a bit. I can’t emphasize how uncomfortable dancing makes me feel (I grew up in the town from Footloose, clearly) and I probably wouldn’t care for the “band’s” “music” under normal circumstances, but the end product mesmerized me.

WORKING

We are moving into the single digits of weeks from my due date for two scripts. This is disconcerting, sure, but it’s also a good sign that it’s time to move. I laid out my Battle Plan for the month and am already jumping all over how to improve the materials and flow.

Also it is my birthday this month. I discovered the largest planetarium in North America is ONLY A THIRTEEN HOUR DRIVE AWAY and there is a SUGAR MUSEUM in DOWNTOWN TORONTO.

Okay. Go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

