Skip to content

Week 40

March 20, 2012
tags:

Good Evening.

I lost a draft of this earlier because running this through the iPad lacks functionality – you either junk your draft or you publish it, there’s no in between – so I’ll just move on.

READING

I finished ONWARD TO OUR NOBLE DEATHS by Shigeru Mizuki. It’s very good, reprinted from 1973 by Drawn and Quarterly. It reminded me a lot of the strange argument that I had in a Pop Culture and Propaganda class in University where we all had to post on the (compulsory) message boards. The class was at a certain point where we were supposed to contrast the individualist themes of WW2 American Propaganda with collective minded, social “honour” of the Japanese Propaganda. Several of my classmates insisted that Japanese propaganda was evil and that the American propaganda was justified because it was based on the individual and freedom and I tried to find as many thesaurus words for “YOU RACISTS” as I could without getting booted.

What I’m saying is that University is essential to experience first world problems without a shred of self-awareness.

I also finished Karel Capek’s THE ABSOLUTE AT LARGE which started funny, moved into subversive and then abandoned itself with a Vonnegut like self-interjection, then moved onto a history textbook sized description of the alternative world, which, for all his vision, the author failed to predict the second world war in any capacity. It’s clear he wrote the book in the 1920s because he wrote Germany as a cowed energy glutton in the weird world of 1938.

Capek coined the term robot (to which he credits his brother, Josef Capek, an inventor, painter and writer), predicted the creation of the nuclear bomb and refused to accept Communism as a viable alternative, damaging his popularity in the Czech Republic after the war. He was declared Czechoslovakia’s “public enemy number two” by the Gestapo and refused to leave country when Germany annexed the country in 1938. He died Christmas Day, 1938 from double pneumonia.

WATCHING

I have begun watching THE SHIELD, enjoyed THE WALKING DEAD finale just downloaded the new Aziz Ansari special and have been feeding myself with other things as well, but what’s most important is JIRO DREAMS OF SUSHI.

I saw it last night. I loved it. I want to see it again. I want to make everyone I know see it. It’s a goddamn symphony. There are highs, there are lows and the melody is always present. They could have stood a conductor at the front of the theater to wave his hands dramatically throughout the film and it might have made it a tiny bit better for me. I really loved this documentary.

It really goes to show how that a simple story, well told, can make all the difference in the world.

If DVDs were sold as you left the theater, I would have bought two. I wouldn’t even know who I would have given the other one two, I would have just known that two would have sufficed.

WORK

I am purposely avoiding thinking about what might become the GLORIOUS FIVE YEAR PLAN PART DEUX, but I think I came up with a slight shift to the formula to shake things up in a few different directions. All of which is exciting.

Also, I figured out that, if you wanted to, you could create customizable notebooks and original notebooks on lulu.com? Choose your own size, binding, layout. Start a daily calendar where you want and include a tracking sheet that you want to abide by – whether leaving room for stickers, pictures, accomplishments, point scoring, hourly breakdowns, picture gluing areas, personalized logo cover – you can create an ideal notebook using Word or QWARK, PDF it and send it off. It won’t have the storied history of a Moleskine, but it will be tailored to your job, your life, your daily routine and everything that you so desire.

That’ll probably be another addition to the GFYP2, but I don’t want to touch that until I figure out what I want to track. Time. Points. Word count. Distance. Media… Mileage. Curses. Dollars thrown around. Guffaws. Something.

You could make a notebook that, when viewed from afar, would make you look like even more of a serial killer than you already do, you small-printing-margin-doodler, you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

