Skip to content

Week 23

November 14, 2011
tags:

Off to the shitty London tomorrow, back on Wednesday. This is great news, because it’s getting to be the time of the year that I leave the house weekly to visit Wal-Mart and that’s about it. Wal-Marts at this time of year exist to facilitate two things: 1) Provide ample examples of why to never have kids (most recent being: IT MAKES YOU A PARENT, and the kind of parent that shouts “GODDAMNIT” at your kids in a Wal-Mart), 2) It allows you to very briefly inflate your sense of superiority. You are not like these people. They are scum. With their snot faced offspring and their constant shouting and toddler sized beer label onesies.

Caution: This is a temporary feeling that does feel good until you realize that, yes, you too are shopping inside the Wal-Mart. And you are just like them.

If you don’t get out before you realize this, purchase a snuggie before you leave because you’re going to be on the couch for a few days.

READING

I finished FABLES volume 15, which brings the series to a hundred issues. Tremendous work as usual from the team. Willingham is always happy to take the series in a direction that no one was expecting and to rip what he could from the hands of the Fables and this volume does exactly that. Not only do I have no idea where the story is going, but I couldn’t be happier in finding out.

Also completed THE NERDIST WAY in another big sitting. One of the pitfalls that it identifies and I always fall for, is the need to change atmosphere when work is stagnant. Something that I never do because there’s nowhere to go around here. But I think that it’s time I start branching out and identifying places that I can sit down and be left alone for an hour or two.

An in my first week of playing with the Epic Win app, I’ve leveled up once and gotten frustrated that I keep having to move goals back, just a few hours in most cases, because I don’t usually finish a day’s worth of work until well after midnight. Because I am vampire of sadness.

WATCHING

Not for the first time this year I found a few hours of SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS on TV and watched every minute of it. Four full episodes in a row, and good ones as per usual.

I also just completed AN IDIOT ABROAD, Series 2. As usual, the show is shot beautifully and Karl is as exactly offensive and questionable as usual. Millions of other people would love to be doing what he’s doing and where he’s going, and he’s having none of it. But it was really nice to see him, for once, happy and determined to climb Mount Fuji in episode 7. He was tired, he wanted to go home, but he pressed on so he could say that he did it. It felt like growth in someone whose career I’ve been following closely for years now.

I also watched a few episodes of THE RICKY GERVAIS SHOW, which I ignored in the first place. I’ve listened to those podcasts dozens of times, so I didn’t much see a point. But the animation is stellar and has a classic feel to it. Like the old Hanna Barbera cartoons, animated in front of colourful, stagnant backgrounds. The animation is really, very lovely and adds a few visual beats to the podcast that I love.

WORKING

Off to London! Comics are kicking back into gear after Alex and I depressed the fuck out of each other over dinner. We might as well have lied back and moaned out loud for half an hour before we moved on to our usual fare.

I returned home to begin the labours as per usual to discover, almost update after update, people I know, some of whom I would consider to be vacant holes of talent humblebragging about their work, their projects and their recent successes. It was enough to make me want to crawl into a Snuggie and suck what bleach I could from its thin, shoddy fibers.

Thankfully sulking is just one emotional notch away from outrage and hate, both of which have always been tremendous boons to my work.

Oh, I also completed and sent my first book to the printer. It’s a “for family” thing and a gift, but it was good to play around with writing, cutting and formatting a massive document. I am very excited to see the printed results.

For those who want to know, the original document was 20,000 words, which I cut down to 9,000. The final was under 7,000, because I realized the print was too small for my grandparents to read. KNOW YOUR AUDIENCE, they say.

Back in a few.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

