Skip to content

Week 16 – The Hundred Day March

September 26, 2011
tags:

I have been away. I was working and family stuff blew away everything else. But that’s all done now. Back in the office, back to the lofty, ambitious goals of the Glorious Five Year Plan. And being the fool that I am for power language, buzz words and 20th century propaganda (I studied history), I (Friday) examined the calendar for the rest of the year and discovered that there were 100 days until the end of the year.

So, three days ago, I launched the 100 Day March. The March is just a title and a countdown that I can use to light that fire under my ass and remind myself that no, I don’t have all the time in the world to lazily wander from project to project, never getting anything done.

I like to give titles and launch projects as such not because I think that they are inherently more valid or valuable than other things, but because I find that a title, some colour and some strong words help me, personally, to add depth, meaning and pleasure to projects. The “Five Year Plan” is fucking boring and would never have got me as far as the Glorious Five Year Plan has. I like a little colour and flair and drama, sue me.

So I’ve set some goals, used some cue cards to solidify my goals for the year and we’re off. The goal is to wrap all my open projects by the end of the year, getting them to a spot where I can comfortably take them out of the office and put them on someone else’s desk. The goal is to clear off my plate off existing projects completely, because then I’ll have absolutely nothing to work with on January 1st, 2012.

And that scares me. Everything will be taken care of, or at best in an long editing phase. So what will there be to do?

I’ll have to make up some new stuff.

97 days and counting left in the Year of the Beast. So let’s see what I can do.

WATCHING

I caught WARRIOR, MONEYBALL and just finished CARLOS mini-series. I’m looking forward to reading the MONEYBALL script, which I have sitting around somewhere. WARRIOR I guarantee will open the door to a half dozen shitty UFC movies in the next two years. Perhaps one will be called “I KICK THE FACE.”

13 ASSASSINS was also great.

In terms of the season’s new shows, I caught WHITNEY, PRIME SUSPECT, PERSON OF INTEREST and a few other things are still sitting in the PVR waiting to go. So far, PRIME SUSPECT is the strongest of the new.

COMMUNITY opened with John Goodman doing Network, 2001: A Space Odyssey and Dr. Who references. It is easily my favourite sitcom.

READING

I finished MY DEAD DAD WAS IN ZZ TOP, which I never clued in to the fact that it wasn’t entirely based around that premise when I was in the shopping phase. I skimmed bits from bands I’m not well versed with. It wasn’t even a afternoon read.

I also got my hands on HABIBI, by Craig Thompson, which is gorgeous and finished Michael Kupperman’s MARK TWAIN’S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 1910-2010.

WORK

The 100 Day March is an attempt to completely clear the cue cards off my walls and effectively leave me with nothing for 2012. I want to have a small arsenal of material and a fully realized map of places to shove everything, so I’m making sure to include completing my thorough Canadian production company list, as well as the beginnings of the broadcast networks map for what I refer to as the English Market.

BONUS!
Fact: The Muppet Show was British. It was syndicated to the United States.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

